Welcome to Brown County Kansas Genealogy Research


 My name is Bob Jenkins
and I created this website to provide genealogy
 information and links to genealogy information  to assist people in researching
 their Brown County Kansas ancestors.

 I would appreciate any contribution that you would like to make  to this site:
 biographies, obituaries, birth, marriage, death info,  grave info, photographs....etc


   Use the box below to search for
   Brown County Data

  Brief History from Kansas State Historical Society:

 Brown County was organized on September 17, 1855, as one of the original 33 counties created by the Territorial Legislature.
 Containing the cities of Everest, Fairview, Hamlin, Hiawatha, Horton, Morrill, Powhattan, Reserve, Robinson, Sabetha (part)
 and Willis, the county was founded by William Gentry; H. C. Gregg; Thurston Chase; James Mills; E. R. Corneilison;
 W. C. Foster; John Belk; and Jacob Englehart. The county was named for Albert G. Brown, U. S. Senator from Mississippi.

 In 1855 the settlers of Walnut Creek formed a protective association to enforce the rights of actual settlers against intruders,
 and to prevent the sale of liquor to the Indians; the Oregon Trail passed through the county

©   JenkinsGenealogyResearch    All Rights Reserved.                            This site last updated: