Welcome to Crawford County Kansas Genealogy Research


Girard KS 1925

 My name is Bob Jenkins
and I created this website to provide genealogy
 information and links to genealogy information  to assist people in researching
 their Crawford County Kansas ancestors.

 I would appreciate any contribution that you would like to make  to this site:
 biographies, obituaries, birth, marriage, death info,  grave info, photographs....etc


   Use the box below to search for
   Crawford County Data

  Brief History from Kansas State Historical Society:

 Crawford County was organized on February 13, 1867, by John Laman; P. S. Smith; James Hathaway; J. W. Wallace;
 Lafayette Manlove; Henry Schoen; and F. M. Logan. Named for Samuel J. Crawford, Governor of Kansas (1865-1868), the
 county contains the cities of Frontenac, Girard, Arcadia, Mulberry, McCune, Pittsburg, Cherokee, Hepler, Walnut and Arma.

 In 1857 coal was discovered and the subsequent development of the mining made Crawford County one of the largest coal
 producers in the state.

 The first church was the Catholic Parish in Grant Township, established in 1868. The first fair was held by the Crawford
 County Agricultural Association, organized in 1870, but the exact dates of the first fair are unknown. The first school was
 formed in 1858 in Lincoln Township.


©   JenkinsGenealogyResearch    All Rights Reserved.                            This site last updated: