Welcome to Elk County Kansas Genealogy Research


Vachel Freeman Home Longton, KS 1886

 My name is Bob Jenkins
and I created this website to provide genealogy
 information and links to genealogy information  to assist people in researching
 their Elk County Kansas ancestors.

 I would appreciate any contribution that you would like to make  to this site:
 biographies, obituaries, birth, marriage, death info,  grave info, photographs....etc


   Use the box below to search for
   Elk County Data

 Brief History from Kansas State Historical Society:

 Elk County was organized on March 25, 1875, by A. F. Eby; J. C. Pinney; Richard Graves; James Shipley; R. M. Humphry;
 Elison Neat; H. G. Moller; Richard Graves; A. P. Searcy; S. B. Oberlender; J. N. Young; R. H. Nichols; S. J. Bascom; Phelix
 Lorance; Mark McBee; and T. M. Carter. Named for the Elk River, the county contains the cities of Elk Falls, Grenola,
 Howard, Longton and Moline.

 A long running dispute over the county seat location of Howard County (established in 1867), between Elk Falls, Howard,
 Boston, Peru, and Longdon, which included the use of Kansas Militia to keep the peace, led to a move in 1875 to divide the
 county. In 1875 Howard County divided into Elk and Chautauqua counties, primarily to settle the county seat feud.

©   JenkinsGenealogyResearch    All Rights Reserved.                            This site last updated: