Welcome to Jefferson County Kansas Genealogy Research


Nathan Stark's store 1895-96

 My name is Bob Jenkins
and I created this website to provide genealogy
 information and links to genealogy information  to assist people in researching
 their Jefferson County Kansas ancestors.

 I would appreciate any contribution that you would like to make  to this site:
 biographies, obituaries, birth, marriage, death info,  grave info, photographs....etc


   Use the box below to search for
   Jefferson County Data

 Brief History from Kansas State Historical Society:

 Jefferson county was one of the original 33 counties created by the Territorial Legislature. It was organized on March 27,
 1856, by Daniel Morgan Boone (son of Daniel Boone); William and George Dyer; Henry Zen; Henry Chubb; William B.
 Wade; Sidney Stewart; Aaron Cook; R. P. Beebe; Jefferson Riddle; and J. T. Wilson. It contains the cities of Valley Falls,
 Winchester, Perry, Nortonville, Oskaloosa, Ozawkie, Meriden, and McLouth. The county was named for Thomas Jefferson.

 Jefferson County was part of the long struggle during the free-state controversies because of its location. After a series of
 raids, and "squatter" settlements, Missouri pro slave supporters drove voters from the polls during the first county elections.
 During 1856 the trouble culminated in the Battle of Hickory Point and a raid on Grasshopper Falls (now Valley Falls).

©   JenkinsGenealogyResearch    All Rights Reserved.                            This site last updated: