Welcome to Marshall County Kansas Genealogy Research


Golden Eagle Hotel and Bar  (circa 1856-1862)

 My name is Bob Jenkins
and I created this website to provide genealogy
 information and links to genealogy information  to assist people in researching
 their Marshall County Kansas ancestors.

 I would appreciate any contribution that you would like to make  to this site:
 biographies, obituaries, birth, marriage, death info,  grave info, photographs....etc


   Use the box below to search for
   Marshall County Data

 Brief History from Kansas State Historical Society:

 Marshal County, one of the most northern counties of the state, was officially organized on August 25, 1855. Founded by
 Frank Marshall; A. G. Woodward; John D. Wells; A. G. Barnett; and Joseph Langdon, the county was one of the original 33
 counties organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. Frank Marshall, upon acceptance of the county as one of the original
 33, named the county for himself. Marshall County contains the cities of Summerfield, Blue Rapids, Beattie, Marysville,
 Axtell, Vermillion, Oketo, Frankfort and Waterville.

 Marysville was established as a "home station" on the Pony Express route, 1860-1861, and put the county "on the map." The
 Central Branch of the Union Pacific Railroad's entrance into the county in 1867 assisted in bringing settlers to the county.
 Also the founding of the first post office in Kansas Territory on November 11, 1854, which has the longest continual service
 in the state, was an important moment for the county.

©   JenkinsGenealogyResearch    All Rights Reserved.                            This site last updated: