Welcome to Rawlins County Kansas Genealogy Research


Atwood, KS 1910

 My name is Bob Jenkins
and I created this website to provide genealogy
 information and links to genealogy information  to assist people in researching
 their Rawlins County Kansas ancestors.

 I would appreciate any contribution that you would like to make  to this site:
 biographies, obituaries, birth, marriage, death info,  grave info, photographs....etc


   Use the box below to search for
   Rawlins County Data

 Brief History from Kansas State Historical Society:

 Rawlins County is of the most northwestern counties in the state of Kansas. Containing the cities of Atwood, McDonald and
 Herndon, the county was founded by W. R. Shirley; G. P. Winter; S. B Hunter; Joseph Hewes; C. M. Egelston; J. D. Dewalt;
 E. J. Fullmer; James M. Matheny; and John A. Bliss. The county was organized on May 25, 1881.

 The county gets its name from General John Rawlins, Secretary of War under President Ulysses S. Grant. An old county
 legend states that Belle Starr, while fleeing from the law, is supposed to have lived with her gang in one of the caves in the
 eastern part of Rawlins County.

©   JenkinsGenealogyResearch    All Rights Reserved.                            This site last updated: