Welcome to Johnson County Kansas Genealogy Research

Park Street, Olathe 1900

 My name is Bob Jenkins
and I created this website to provide genealogy
 information and links to genealogy information  to assist people in researching
 their Johnson County Kansas ancestors.

 I would appreciate any contribution that you would like to make  to this site:
 biographies, obituaries, birth, marriage, death info,  grave info, photographs....etc
   Use the box below to search for
   Johnson County Data

 Brief History from Kansas State Historical Society:

 Johnson County was one of the original 33 counties organized by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. It was not until
 September 17, 1857, that the county was officially organized by Reverends Thomas Johnson and William Johnson; Johnston
 Lykins; Isaac McCoy; Jonathan Meeker; Thomas E. Mulvane; William Williams; Rynear Morgan; William Holmes; J. D.
 Allen; J. C. Forest; and L. F. Bancroft. Named for Reverend Thomas Johnson, it contains the cities of Countryside, DeSoto,
 Edgerton, Gardner, Lake Quivira (part), Leawood, Lenexa, Merriam, Mission, Mission Hills, Olathe, Overland Park, Prairie
 Village, Shawnee, Spring Hill (part), Westwood and Westwood Hills.

 The founding of Shawnee Methodist Mission and Indian Manual Labor School in 1839 was one of the most important events
 in the early county history. The Shawnee Methodist Mission was used as the basis for the novel, Seven Trees, by Janice Young

 The first church, other than the Mission, was established in Shawnee in 1840 and was known as the "Old Log Church."
 The first county fair was held in Edgerton/Gardner (date unknown), and the first school districts were all formed at the same
 time through a state law.

 The outwitting of Missourians at the Battle of Bull Creek has become legendary in the county. The battle occurred on
 September 1, 1856.


©   JenkinsGenealogyResearch    All Rights Reserved.                            This site last updated: