Welcome to Lincoln County Kansas Genealogy Research


Beverly KS circa 1890

 My name is Bob Jenkins
and I created this website to provide genealogy
 information and links to genealogy information  to assist people in researching
 their Lincoln County Kansas ancestors.

 I would appreciate any contribution that you would like to make  to this site:
 biographies, obituaries, birth, marriage, death info,  grave info, photographs....etc


   Use the box below to search for
   Lincoln County Data

 Brief History from Kansas State Historical Society:

 Rush County was organized on December 5, 1874, by William Basham; P. C. Dixon; Adolph Ashcoft; and I. T. Templeton.
 The county is named for Alexander Rush, Captain of Company H, Second Colored Cavalry, killed at Jenkins Ferry, Arkansas,
 in April, 1864. It contains the cities of McCracken, Timken, Alexander, Liebenthal, Rush Center, La Crosse, Bison and Otis.

 There was a county seat struggle between LaCrosse and Rush Center lasting 10 years until LaCrosse finally became the
 county seat. In 1943 the federal government constructed a helium plant near Otis. Although no longer in operation, it was one
 of the largest producers of helium in the United States. The location of many trails, including the Fort Hays-Fort Dodge Trail,
 the Fort Hays-Fort Larned Trail and others played important roles in the county's history.

©   JenkinsGenealogyResearch    All Rights Reserved.                            This site last updated: