

Madison County Genealogical Society P.O. Box 1031, Norfolk, NE 68702-1031 mcgs@telebeep.com

www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~nemcgs/ www.nesgs.org/~mcgs

<u>A History of Abandoned Methodist Churches</u> in the Norfolk District of the Nebraska Conference

by E. T. Antrim

This booklet was printed by the Newman Grove Reporter, the year is unknown. It was purchased off of Ebay the internet auction site last year. Bits and pieces will be published as space permits in the future.

The introduction, written by E. T. Antrim, notes over sixty abandoned churches in the district. He notes that many letters were written and many were never answered. Information was very difficult to get in some cases. He relied primarily on these letters, conference minutes and Marquette's History of Nebraska Methodism and his own knowledge of the district having spent over 45 years in ministry in this district.

The end note in the booklet is reprinted here:

The history is a work of love by Rev. E. T. Antrim, and is in compliance with the request of the Historical Society of the Nebraska annual Conference of the Methodist church. Rev. Mr. Antrim is well aware that this is not a complete history. If you readers can secure additional material or history of these churches or others completely overlooked, send that information to the Norfolk District Superintendent. Four copies will be made, one sent to Historical Society, one to Nebraska Wesleyan University Library, one to Rev. Mr. Antrim and one kept with the records of the District Superintendent. The sale of this history is to be at cost—no profit will be made by anyone. It is expected that each church on the district will buy at least three copies—one to be kept in the permanent records of the church. John W. Ekwall, District Superintendent, 215 North 9th St., Norfolk, Nebraska.

Index (to Abandoned Methodist Churches....)

Bancroft Circuit Bancroft Liberty Bethany Blackbird Battle Creek Circuit Blencoe Boone Brunswick Cedar Valley Center Crofton Creston Deloit Enfield Emerick Emerson Fairview **Fullerton Circuit** Mount Zion Pleasant Valley Timbercreek Grace—Dakota County Grace—Wayne County Grecian Bend Grove Hartington Holt and Knox County Blackbird Marquette Middlebranch Millerboro Minneola Maxfield Olcott Paddock Star Venus Hoskins Hubbard Humphrey Ionia Iowa Valley Leedom Leigh Log church Monroe Mount Pleasant Niobrara Oliver Grove Petersburg Platte Center Pleasant Hill Primrose **Reservation Circuit** Alfred Gross Highland **Mission Church** Salem Scribner

Sholes Skedee Spring Valley Star West Point Wilson Victory Verdel with Reservation Circuit School House Appointments